The World Court Vol. II



The World Court Vol. II

(available by December 2022)

Covers the history of the Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ) from the days of the first General Elections at Geneva in September 1921 up to the discontinuance of the Court early in 1946. It recalls the dramatic Inter-Bellum Period, its first decade of high promise of the League as encapsulated in the Locarno Agreements (1925) and the Briand-Kellogg Pact (1928), and the subsequent breakdown of hope and the increase of geopolitical tension on the spur of Global Depression (1929). The volume emphatically discusses the role and record of the PCIJ in light of the socio-political quandaries that brought mankind down to a new World War. In Four Parts it successively addresses the Court, the Judges, the Parties and the Cases. The publication includes ample biographies of judges, deputy-judges, and national judges, and including some prominent jurists who acted as Agents for Parties. It presents full reviews of all cases in their socio-historical context. Like Volume I, it includes ample diagrams and schedules, chronological surveys and bibliographical sections and is likewise made available in an illustrated edition and a text-only version, both in hard-bound and soft-cover versions.


Note: This book is available for pre-order. Once available you will be notified of the release date, price and different versions. You may then tell us your preferred version(s) upon which you will receive payment instructions and an invoice.






An Ambitious Project


True to our core commitment to highlight the role of The Hague as ‘Judicial Capital’, at Judicap the years 2020-2024 are dedicated to the Centenary of the World Court (1922-2022). In an ambitious project, the history of the concept of such a Court, the fascinating tale of its constitution, and the impressive role and record of the world’s highest judicial organ are covered in two series of publications that run parallel. The first series covers the story in three lavishly illustrated volumes, the second series is a richly documented three-volume text-only edition. Both series will be made available in hard-bound and soft-cover versions. The first volume in both versions will be available as of 20 June 2022. The first copy will be presented to H.E. Judge Peter Tomka, Judge and former President of the ICJ, who may pose as the initiator of the project. The presentation will take place during a commemorative workshop (“The Hope of Ages”) at Nymegen University, co-organized by Prof. Christian Tams (University of Glasgow) and Prof. Henri de Waele (Radboud University, Nymegen).

You may also like…